Success!

We moved HB93 through the first hearing in House Consumer and Public Affairs! On a 3-2 partisan vote, supported by the Democrats, our bill moves on to the House State Government, Elections & Indian Affairs Committee. We hope to attract Republican support in the coming hearings. This is a non-partisan bill that benefits New Mexico, not a political party.

Here is the ABQ Journal’s coverage.

Thank you for your calls and e-mails to key committee members. Here is the list of committee members for the next committee. Please call and e-mail them:

Representative Georgene Louis - (D)
Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4329
Home Phone: (505) 250-7932
Email: georgene.louis@nmlegis.gov

Representative D. Wonda Johnson - (D)
Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4433
Email: dwonda.johnson@nmlegis.gov

Representative Gail Chasey - (D)Chasey
Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4411
Office Phone: (505) 246-2221
Home Phone: (505) 266-5191
Email: gail@gailchasey.com

Representative Daymon Ely - (D)
Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4332
Office Phone: (505) 248-0370
Home Phone: (505) 610-6529
Email: daymon.ely@nmlegis.gov

Representative Dayan Hochman-Vigil - (D)
Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4336
Office Phone: (505) 288-3500
Home Phone: (505) 948-2320
Email: dayan.hochman-vigil@nmlegis.gov

Representative Derrick J. Lente - (D)
Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4341
Home Phone: (505) 507-3063
Email: derrick.lente@nmlegis.gov

Representative Greg Nibert - (R)
Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4211
Office Phone: (572) 622-6510
Home Phone: (575) 317-1050
Email: greg.nibert@nmlegis.gov

Representative William "Bill" R. Rehm - (R)
Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4214
Home Phone: (505)259-3398
Email: bill.rehm@nmlegis.gov

Representative Martin R. Zamora - (R)
Capitol Phone: (505) 986-4211
Home Phone: (575) 309-2334
Email: martin.zamora@nmlegis.gov

We do not know when the bill will be heard, but soon we hope. There will be a companion Senate bill introduced today.

Also, the County Clerk's Association is standing against open primaries. Please call your county clerk and ask them to tell their association to support HB93. They are saying it would be too hard to administer, but 41 states that have open primaries do it just fine and we know our clerks are as smart as election officials in other states.

Thank you to sponsors Reps. Daymon Ely and Natalie Figueroa. Thank you to Blair Dunn, Kathleen Burke, Bob Perls, Heather Nordquist and Steve Cabeides, all NMOP Board members or advisors, for attending the Santa Fe hearings as well as many of our fellow election reform advocates.

Stay tuned.

 


Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.